Triangle half-square - no-hole method

by Justdunny (Toni Andmarc). Please leave some kudos so I know you’ve been here.

Several of my designs have cried out for a half-square that can be worked from the centre out so colours can be carried through, to fill spaces between squares turned diagonally.
I’ve never found a pattern that suited, so I worked this out.

HALF SQUARE 110613 sml.jpg

NOTE - I prefer not to have corner holes, so have worked out a way not to have corner holes or the bulk of a lot of stitches worked into the corner. I’ve used this method for the right angle here as well as the other corners. You can use any method you like for the right angle.

Instructions:
(English terms - Begin each row with ch or standing st)

  1. Work into chain ring - 2 tr (US dc), 1 ch, 4 tr, 1 ch, twice, 2 tr. Join to beg st.
  2. Work 1 tr into each tr to first corner ch. 1 tr into corner ch st. Turn work to the right so tr just worked is horizontal to the right. 2 ch. Work 1 tr into body of tr laying across, then 1 tr into same place that tr is worked. 1 tr into ea of next 2, 1 dtr into ea next 2. Into corner ch work 2 dtr, 1 ttr. Turn work so the right angle is pointing down. Work 3 ch, 1 tr into corner st. 1 tr into each tr across centre. Into corner ch st - 2 dtr, 1 ttr, Turn to work side first worked. 3 ch, 1 tr into corner st. Work 3 tr into the body of the ttr st. Work 1 tr into each tr and join to first st.
  3. Work 1 tr into each tr (and working 1 tr into each ch of beginning substitute sts) to right angle. Turn and work as for prev row. Work 1 tr in each to corner st of first 45 degree corner. Work 1 tr, 1 dtr into corner st. Turn. 3 ch, 1 tr into corner st, 1 tr into each to next corner st, Work 1 tr, 1 dtr into corner st. Turn. 3 ch, 1 tr into corner st. 1 tr into each st to beginning & sl st to join. Continue to work row 3 until desired size.
 
35
Kudos
 
35
Kudos

Now read this

Crochet outside of the lines

G'day all I hope you excuse the quality of my patterns. Selling them is not an aim at all. Sharing them appeals to me, but I try to do something different, something new in each item I produce. A lot of people find my patterns a bit hard... Continue →